A bella in Italia

Apologies folk but I decided to make a last minute decision with my hubby to go to Italy for a long weekend with our girls! Hence no blog for the last few days!

So how did it go?

Being new to this whole low-carb diet thing was surely going to present me with a few challenges, especially going to the Carb Capital of Europe?!
I’ve only been following this diet for around a month so I was worried this trip may cause a few glitches!

20130512-205551.jpg
My favourite foods have always been pasta and bread (yes and chocolate but that’s different!).

So there I was with all my family staring down at a menu, wondering what on earth I would have to eat and something clicked. Something I was never sure i had inside me, something that I had seen in others but never really something that was my particular strong point.
WILL POWER!

20130512-203651.jpg
As much a the delicious smell of fresh pasta seemed tempting, and knowing I would be sat with all my family whilst they scoffed down amazing pizzas….I managed to order salads.

Now, although some of you would scream ‘salads, how boring’ ( and I know you will, I was one of those people many months ago!) I was surprised how yummy they actually were. Having fresh fish with a large salad, or just tomatoes, olives, mozzarella and prosciutto covered in balsamic vinegar was amazing!

20130512-205226.jpg
I will admit to sharing a little ice cream now and again but real Italian Gelato is divine and if I was going to chose one treat throughout my visit I would happily ( as I did) bypass all the other temptations to have a few mouthfuls of vanilla ice cream!

So all in all, I think I managed to survive my Italian adventure without veering off my diet!

20130512-214534.jpg
Anyone else got any holidays or events they are concerned are going to throw them off their diets?!

Leave a comment